Tonight I really wanted something nourishing. I devoured an incredibly sugary cupcake from our hospital’s bake sale today and immediately felt the sugar high coupled with the almost immediate sugar low. This reminded me of why I try eat healthy. Not only because of the health benefits, but it just makes me feel good.

Not to say the cupcake didn’t satisfy me though. 🙂

We recently got a deal with some english muffins; buy one get TWO free. Now we have more english muffins than we know what to do with!

I picked up some “Tex Mex” veggie burgers from Trader Joe’s today which were completely loaded with vegetables: broccoli, carrots, corn, peas, edamame, red peppers, etc.

What I am always hesitant of, though, is the sodium content of veggie burgers. They tend to be off the charts. These are 110 calories and have 230 mg sodium a pop. Not terrible.

Veggie burger +

equals:

It totally satisfied. If only more people would try using english muffins for buns!

I think I met me vegetable quota for the day with these brussels. Roasted at 400 degrees with olive oil, salt and pepper for 40 minutes. I “agitate” them once during cooking to make sure they brown evenly. No recipe needed.

I feel like I am fighting disease with every bite!

This was a very easy meal that didn’t involve slaving over any stove.

And I got to look at these while dining:

My husband knows how to cheer me up- fresh flowers!

Go out and roast brussel sprouts today! Seriously, go.

