I have had a craving for mexican food recently. Enchiladas really are in no way considered to be a “healthy” meal but I think that when made at home and with healthy additions, not only is it improved but it has at least half the calories of the kind you might get at a restaurant.

As usual, I was not prepared with a recipe. All I picked up at the store was small flour tortillas, an avocado, enchilada sauce and mexican blend cheese.

Yesterday I found myself brainstorming all day about what I should put into this dish. When I got home from work I found a container of mushrooms, frozen corn and an onion. This would make OK enchiladas but still missing something. That is when I found our Trader Joe’s quinoa. Viola! Our meal was made.

We put our quinoa into a rice cooker and treat it the same way as rice and it turns our perfectly everytime. While this was cooking I sauteed the mushrooms and onions in some butter (its the only thing I cook in butter) and threw in about 1/2 cup of corn straight from the freezer. I seasoned it with some cumin, red pepper, salt and black pepper. Once the quinoa was done I put that straight into the pan and took it off the heat.

Once the tortillas were filled and rolled up, I just covered them in enchilada sauce and cheese. I tried to be careful and not drench the tortillas in sauce, but it is hard to do because I know how delicious that sauce is.

It was baked in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered.

They were amazing. And you can see from my picture that my serving was only about as big across as an avocado, which was only two of the small tortillas.

Plus it was made more healthy by skipping sour cream all together.

The insides made this dish!

Yum. It was great.

We are excited to have this for another night since it made another whole dish full that I just have to bake off tonight.

I was telling my husband that once we have kids I am gonna need to increase my production at meal times. Right now we tend to finish off entrees between the two of us in one or two nights. I will cross that bridge when we come to it. 🙂

