The weather on Saturday was great, 70s and sunny!

We wanted to take a walk around Boston and it ended up being over ten miles. Here are some pictures from along the way.

It was the first time I have really walked through Southie and I really liked it. It seems like a nice place to live, a lot of condos and it seems quiet and family friendly. Plus the beach is right there.

—-

Our meal did not quite turn out as I had planned.

First the pork tenderloin, which I love to make, was less done on the ends than the middle so my pieces looked kind of rare.

I must admit that even though I use a meat thermometer, I got a little impatient at the end and took it out a few minutes before I should have.

My husband was in charge of the sweet potatoes and they turned out great, as usual.

I felt inspired to make a broccoli salad to try something new. I blanched the broccoli by boiling them for about five minutes then submerging them in ice water. I tried something else new by shredding the broccoli stems to avoid any waste. I put these together with a few tablespooons of mayo and a splash of vinegar. Then I added some toasted walnuts that we had leftover. I really liked the crunchiness of the broccoli but it was missing something. I think next time I would add some raisins or something sweet.  Overall it was a good meal but lacked a certain something. Hopefully I can make it up next time!

