I have had this urge to perfect tofu for a while now because everytime I order it at a restaurant it is crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.

So far when I have made it here we have tried roasting it and frying it. The results have not satisfied me.

Well yesterday was the day!

I always start with extra-firm tofu and like to press the excess water out of it for at least a half an hour.

Afterwards I briefly marinaded it in

  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp soy sauce

This seems like a weird combination but it actually worked very nicely.

I then grilled the tofu strips in our George Foreman grill for about three minutes each and they turned out perfectly crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I even dipped it in BBQ sauce after this picture was snapped which wasn’t needed but tasted awesome. All during dinner I was doing the classic “mmmmm”, “wow”, “geez this rocks!”.

The brussel sprouts were roasted in a 425 degree oven with some olive oil, salt and pepper for about 30-40 minutes.

I have wanted to make brussels again after dining here for my birthday and enjoying roasted brussel sprouts in duck fat, which was freakin’ amazing!

The whole meal was very simple yet incredibly satisfying. Tina influenced me into buying some arugula greens at Trader Joe’s and making a simple salad with feta and peanuts. It is definitely the prettiest green I have ever eaten. 🙂

A lot of people are afraid of tofu but more people need to try it! It is high in protein, low in fat and an excellent source of calcium (who knew?).

I have the day off today for working the weekend and I think a stop at Crate and Barrel is in my future!

