I have had a weird craving for cauliflower recently so was happy to find a cauliflower gratin recipe in Martha’s cookbook.

I have a very small kitchen, so one thing I often need to do is improvise when I need to make room. This is one trick.

Sometimes you have to use the garbage cans. I often left things cool on one as well. I hope that doesn’t gross anyone out; I do wash the outside quite often.

I realized that I really can’t put the recipe I used on this website so maybe I can just entice people into buying their own copy.

Here was the star of the show:

I have always liked cauliflower more than broccoli because I love the crunchy texture.  It reminds me of going to my Grandma’s house for some reason.

The sauce for the cauliflower was made shallots, mustard, milk and nutmeg. It turned out really nice. I have a feeling Martha really likes using mustard since a lot of her recipes include this.

A recipe included with the cauliflower gratin was “Apples and Smoked Trout on Rye Crisps”.

The final product.

I was a little hesitant to make the trout crisps because the idea of smoked fish has always grossed me out but I really liked it. The apples complimented it very well, and proved once again that I have a lot to learn when it comes to balancing flavors.

The sauce was creme fraiche (from Trader Joe’s) and mustard. Very simple and worked perfectly with the trout and apple.

The cauliflower was very satisfying but I almost felt like it was missing something. I always try to be careful with adding salt, I always want to get by with using less. This recipe could have used another shake or two.

I am hoping that for all these recipes I try I will go back and try to tweak them myself someday to be healthier and with more pizzazz.

Has anyone ever used smoked trout before?

