I think I may have a spinach salad obsession. The funny thing is, I don’t normally eat this many salads! The blog just brings in out in me.

Tonight I knew I had to use the chicken breasts I bought this weekend so I browned them in a sauce pan and finished them in the oven. All I knew is that I wanted to try my hand at some kind of sauce. I had in my head that a lemon caper sauce would go well over chicken.

One thing to know about me is that I love onions. When a recipe says to add 1/2 cup, I always tend to double it. So my sauce that was only supposed to have 1/2 cup minced onions turned into 1 cup chopped onions. After sauteing the onions I added 2/3 cup broth and 1 teaspoon lemon juice, brought that to a boil then added some mustard.  I threw in two bay leaves and let it stew for a while. At the end I added a tablespoon of capers. I think I let it simmer for too long because it ended up just being flavored onions! Oops.

Meanwhile, I had planned on cooking down some spinach then maybe making some rice. Well when it all came down to it, throwing down raw spinach was a lot easier than dirtying another pan, so the spinach salad was born.

It was good! I promise to branch out with some different meals soon.

—-

I am really enjoying playing around with my husband’s nice camera.

An action shot of my after work snack:

I don’t normally use Truvia but we got a whole bunch of samples at work so I like to try them out. It tastes pretty good. I might consider buying it.

White grapefruits are really tasty. I only started liking grapefruit about a year ago. Isn’t it funny how tastes change?

