I really enjoyed a night to myself last night. I think it is really important to cook a nice meal, even if it is just for you. It is definitely easier just to make a peanut butter sandwich but I end up feeling so much more satisfied when I make myself a proper meal.

I picked up a bottle of wine at Trader Joe’s. Up until about six months ago I really only liked white wines. Now, all of the sudden, I am really loving reds. I think I am easing myself into drinking more red wines because I have only been liking the stronger, spicier ones. Trader Joe’s is second to none when it comes to wine selection. We don’t go anywhere else.

I tried this bottle of Syrah knowing that I love Oreana Winery’s Project Happieness Syrah. Well, I was not so pleased with this one. I think it was too overpowering for me. I can’t say I know very much about wine, but I know that I ended up liking it more after it mellowed out. I think I am ready to branch out a little more with reds.

I enjoyed a glass as I worked on a project. If I am doing something while drinking a glass of wine it can last me two hours, easily.

Then I got to working on dinner. Here is what I threw into the mix.

Quesadilla

  • Sauteed mushrooms and onions
  • Roasted Broccoli
  • Pepperjack cheese
  • Corn
  • Black Beans

Let me say one thing, the smell of broccoli roasting is heinous. I seriously went searching around out apartment for something rotting until I got to the oven. I feel sorry for our neighbors.

It turned out great though, thanks to this little device.

This really does make a great quesadilla. It cooks in about five minutes and turns out perfectly crispy.

The innards.

The final result. Yay for reversible placemats!

Twas grand. I plan on making another one tonight.

